About Us

Board Of Directors & Other Representatives

Board Of Directors

Ms. Patricia Callan

Patricia Callan is the Director of Drinks Ireland. She was a voluntary Director of Business in the Community (Ireland) from 2007-2014 and of Clondalkin Enterprise Group from 2000-2006.

Patricia is a previous recipient of the “OWM Businesswoman of the Year” award and the “Network Ireland Businesswoman of the Year” award; was featured in the Irish Independent’s list of “Ireland’s Fifty Most Influential Women Business Leaders”, in Business & Finance magazine’s “Who’s Who in Irish Business”, and in “Capital Women of Influence: Profiles of 13 Inspirational Irish Women”.

Mr. John Lumsden is an economics graduate of Trinity College Dublin and a former career civil servant with the Department of Transport. He held senior positions in that Department with responsibility for road, rail, maritime and aviation matters. As Assistant Secretary General he had responsibility for legislation and policy development relating to road safety for a number of years.

He brings to the board a wide experience of the relationships between state agencies and the other structures of Government and of the corporate governance, financial and legal environments within which organisations operate.

Deirdre Healy, BA, PhD is Director of the UCD Institute of Criminology and Criminal Justice and Associate Professor at the Sutherland School of Law. She completed her PhD at the UCD Institute of Criminology in 2006 and was subsequently employed as a researcher on a number of funded projects, including a longitudinal study of pathways to desistance among young adult offenders. Deirdre’s teaching and research interests include desistance from crime, community sanctions, criminological theory and victimisation. Her work has been published in prestigious international and Irish journals and her books include the Routledge Handbook of Irish Criminology (with Claire Hamilton, Yvonne Daly and Michelle Butler; Routledge, 2015) and The Dynamics of Desistance: Charting Pathways Through Change (Willan, 2010). Deirdre is currently involved in a research project, “Histories of Probation in Ireland” with Louise Kennefick (Maynooth University).

Peter Byers is a Director and consultant with over 30 years’ experience in both multinational and entrepreneurial operations.  His business development and leadership skills have been generated in commercial and financial roles, tailoring his financial expertise to the issues of the business, adding value to decision making and to the strategic direction of businesses including General Foods, Dalgety PLC, Campbell Soup Company and the Heiton Group.

Peter is now a consultant advising SME’s either as a non-executive or external advisor. He helps companies and their managing directors to focus and direct their business plans to best effect.

Ms. Bernie Gray is a management consultant and executive coach. She is an accountant and formerly held a number of senior management positions in Telecom Eireann, and was latterly HR Director. She is currently Chair of Coillte plc, and a member of the Accountability Board of the Civil Service and the Governing Authority of DCU. She has held a number of non– executive roles including former Chairperson of Eirgrid plc, Board member Business in the Community, Irish Payment Services Organisation, Public Appointments Service and Telecom Eireann (now Eircom).

Moira is the head of Marketing in Business in the Community Ireland (BITCI) since February 2007. She advises over 100 of Ireland’s leading companies on communicating their sustainability and corporate social responsibility (CSR).

She has over 20 years’ experience in senior management working in several sectors ranging from non-profit organisations to private business and start-ups to semi-state bodies. Moira has extensive experience in marketing, specialising in strategic communications, event management and Public Relations. She holds a BA in International Marketing and Japanese from DCU. She has also completed the IMI’s High Performance Leadership Course.

Moira has represented BITCI on numerous media including Morning Ireland, RTE News, Sky News and The Ryan Tubridy Show. Moira has also managed numerous high-profile events including BITCI’s annual CEO fora and major conferences attracting hundreds of business leaders. She regularly hosts many panel sessions and has interviewed some of the country’s leading industry figures.

Assistant Commissioner Paula Hilman had 35 years’ policing experience with the Police Service of Northern Ireland (PSNI) before joining An Garda Síochána in May 2020. As Assistant Commissioner for Roads Policing & Community Engagement she has responsibility for the National Roads Policing Bureau, the National Youth Diversion Bureau, the National Community Engagement Bureau, Public Order and Major Event’s policy.

Previously as a Detective Chief Superintendent Paula was in charge of PSNI’s Public Protection Branch. The Branch was responsible for proactive and reactive specialist and serious investigations in relation to adult and child vulnerability and abuse. Paula was Chair of the Strategic Management Board which oversees Public Protection Arrangements for Northern Ireland. She was a member of the Safeguarding Board for Northern Ireland and the Northern Ireland Adult Safeguarding Partnership.

In June 2019, Paula was elected as the first female President of the Superintendents Association for Northern Ireland, the staff association that represents the Superintending ranks within PSNI.

Paula previously held the hate crime portfolio for PSNI, internally she led on the introduction of new governance structures and policy for hate crime and externally worked collaboratively with partners to improve the response to victims. She was also the PSNI strategic lead for the integration of Syrian Refugees into Northern Ireland.

As Head of Criminal Justice Branch, Paula worked collaboratively with the Public Prosecution Service to establish Northern Ireland’s first Victim & Witness Care Unit and introduce Registered Intermediaries into the Criminal Justice System.

In 2013, Paula was awarded an MBE for services to Policing and the Community.

Funding/Other Representatives

Dave Kenny—Probation Service Representative

IASIO has successfully assisted over 31,000 people to gain education, training, employment and resettlement support since each of the Services began.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.